Mmm… Vegetarian Thanksgiving

Stuffed Squash with Rosemary Leeks & Cheese Tortellini

I’ve gotta say, since becoming a vegetarian it’s been pretty smooth sailing. On the rare occasion that I get a craving for meat, it’s not long before it’s gone. It’s not a decision for me anymore, I have information and visuals (Oh Holy Hell… the visuals…) in my head that I’m fairly certain will make eating meat impossible for the rest of my life. And – pinky swears! – I’m glad for it! I feel healthier than I’ve ever felt and that’s never a bad thing.

BUT…

The only thing I’ve been concerned about since changing my diet has been holiday dinners. My family is pretty traditional and all our meals involved a giant roast of some sort… turkey, ham, beef. You name it, we roast it AND… we roast it good. Damn good. Too good. Amazingly good.

And so, I had to come up with something that I could eat that would be an equal. Otherwise I was gonna be sad. And holiday sadness is NEVER okay.

After some thought & planning, here’s what I came up with. It’s substantial enough to be a giant thing on your plate, and it goes with everything Thanksgiving-y so it didn’t steal the show for other people.

AND it was good! Damn good!

YAY!

Recipe - Step 1

Rosemary Leeks

Recipe - Step 2

Garlic & Rosemary

12 thoughts on “Mmm… Vegetarian Thanksgiving

  1. Lemme tell ya’….it was good….damn good!!! Will definitely incorporate this into our Thanksgiving tradition! I’m excited to see what discoveries will be made for Christmas!!

    • Ooooo “Love love” double love… that’s even better than “love”. SO glad you like them! You’ll have to let me know if you try any of the recipes. I love feedback from my little cyber-test-kitchen!

      ps. I “love love” that I’ve got another fellow Georgian alumni in the house! : )

  2. As I said in my blog, “I’ve been a vegetarian for forty years” and am always sooooo happy when new people come on board. I hope you, like me, will enjoy many decades of celebrating holidays with delicious food – vegetarian style.

  3. That looks really really good. I have some squash from my CSA that I wasn’t sure what to do with. Now I know! And, thanks for a meatless main dish recipe. We aren’t vegetarian, but are trying to limit our meat intake to once or twice a week. It’s hard sometimes! So this is nice. 🙂

    • hey sarah! thanks for your kind words!!

      Limiting meat isn’t hard… I promise!!! Check out danatreat.com for inspiration. She is so wonderful and has such an enormous collection of delicious meatless recipes. Also, there’s 101cookbooks.com, Heidi’s recipes never disappoint either. I promise, it’s not hard just remember… beans are your friend – especially black beans!! : )

Leave a Reply

