Mmm… Oatmeal Scones with Honey, Lavender & Toasted Walnuts

Oatmeal Scone with Honey, Lavender & Toasted Walnuts

lavender

recipe

Who knew lavender was amazing in food?!

Seriously, it is delicious!

It does’t taste like perfume or soap, it is fragrant and unlike anything I’ve ever tasted. SO GOOD!!

In fact, ever since I had a Honey Lavender Scrumpette from Pipolinka Bakery in Wakefield, Quebec I’ve been hooked. And then my friend Alisha introduced me to lavender goat cheese made sweet with a bit of honey…

Oh. Em.Gee! No words…

Anyways, my addiction needed satisfaction so I had to figure it out. I combined Joy the Baker’s recipe for lavender scones with the healthiness of Heidi’s whole wheat scones.

YUMMY!

Scone Triangles

Oatmeal Scone with Honey, Lavender & Toasted Walnuts

Oatmeal Scone with Honey, Lavender & Toasted Walnuts

ps. I found dried lavender flowers at a health food store called Mother Earth

4 thoughts on “Mmm… Oatmeal Scones with Honey, Lavender & Toasted Walnuts

  1. Question – what is Turbinado sugar?? Is it muscovado? We have masses of lavender in our garden at the moment, just at the ready stage for using in this recipe!! Can I use it straight from the domestic garden, do you think?? But I think I would call these “flapjacks!, rather than scones in the traditional sense! But, until I have tried them, I won’t know! So, just let me know what Turbinado sugar is and I can share this obviously wonderful taste experience! xx

    • Turbinado sugar is different from muscovado. It’s large granular brownish sugar but dry like white sugar. I’m fairly certain you could just use plain white sugar…

      And there is apparently a huge difference in scones from the UK & scones from North America. I work with a girl from Ireland who is always saying that. But flapjacks over here would be pancakes, so I’m not sure where that leaves us. I think that the most common ground that we can all agree on is that these are Mmmmmmmmmm!!

      When I come and visit next time I will have to get a proper scone. Mmm… looking forward to it already. : )

      ps. As long as your lavender is dried I don’t see why it wouldn’t work, but I’m no lavender expert so you might have to do a Google.

  2. this looks incredible! i am going to try these. i haven’t had a chance to make a proper scone yet…or maybe i’ve been intimidated by it cause it sounds fancy.

    weird question – what font did you use when you posted the recipe (the one with the purple background) ?

    xo

    (happy to have found your blog!!)

Leave a Reply

