Mmm… Raw Vegan Chocolate Bites

First of all, let’s get it all out of our system…

VEGAN!!!!!?

Ya, ya… I know.

Vegan = extreme
Vegan = hippie
Vegan = weird
Vegan = BLECH!

Except… what if it’s not? What if I told you vegan not only is NOT blech it’s also really, really good. Really.

Let’s forget for a second that it’s obviously THE kindest diet to the planet & to animals, what if it was also yummy? I bet you’d get on board, right.

Okay, maybe not…

After reading The Kind Diet by Alicia Silverstone, I ate vegan for a few weeks. I’m not going to lie… it was difficult. In the end I found it overwhelming trying to find alternatives for dairy & eggs. And at the same time I was constantly worrying about my health. (Although you always should be careful to get all your nutrients, it’s even more important when you eat a vegan diet.)

In the end, I don’t think it was for me. So while I have a huge amount of respect for those able to live a vegan lifestyle, I now happily eat organic dairy & egg products knowing that organic certification usually includes humane animal treatment.

That doesn’t mean that I won’t ever eat vegan food. A lot of it is yummy, ESPECIALLY if it’s prepared for me like it is at The Table – a vegetarian buffet-style restaurant here in Ottawa. Mmm… my favorite!

Which brings me to…. ta-daaaaaaa!

Mmm... Raw Vegan Chocolate Bites

I got hooked on these at The Table where I have been known to top them with a bit of organic whipped cream & berries (OMG… face of GOD!), but they’re just as good plain. After hunting for a recipe that I thought would replicate them, I finally found one and am happy to report that they are almost exactly the same thing.

These little chocolate bites are a little different from your typical brownie. They are not as sweet, nor are they as doughy, but they are delicious. When I was making them, I got a bit creative and started rolling them in coconut & chopped nuts. They kind of ended up looking like somewhere between a Timbit & a truffle. Mmm……. truffles!

The best part about this recipe is that it’s perfect for the summer since it’s no cook.

Mmm... Raw Vegan Chocolate Bites

Mmm… Mmm… Raw Vegan Chocolate Bites
Inspired by the Table’s vegan brownies & recipe found here

INGREDIENTS

  • 8-12 dates, soaked in 1/2 cup of warm water
  • 1 cup of walnuts
  • 1/2 cup of cocoa & 1/2 cup of carob OR 1 cup of either one
  • 2 tsp of agave syrup
  • 1/8 cup of shredded coconut

DIRECTIONS

  1. Process coconut & walnuts in a food processor until they are a fine texture (coarser than sand)
  2. Add cocoa/carob & dates (with water) & process until blended. You want the consistency of the mixture to be similar to cookie dough. It should clump together into a big ball in your food processor when it’s perfect. If the mixture is too dry, add water gradually. If mixture is too wet, add more nuts or coconut.
  3. Roll dough into 1 inch balls & coat in either crushed peanuts, shredded coconut, cocoa, sugar, etc. etc. etc. or leave plain.
  4. Refrigerate in an air-tight container.

Ingredients

Don’t knock’em till you try them!

ps. I think The Table uses all carob powder, which is what I’ll try next time. Seriously…. SO GOOD!

5 thoughts on “Mmm… Raw Vegan Chocolate Bites

  1. Coconuts AND walnuts!!! What does Mr. W think of that??? or does he just enjoy the bite sized bits of yum???? Must say they look mouth watering…please bring some next time you visit… xoxox mama

    • Oh, Mr. Wonderful does not know what he’s missing… and not just when it comes to these but in general when it comes to coconut (especially). However, it’s just as well since things he loves have an extremely short lifespan! MORE FOR ME!! ps. Done & done… xoxo bubba!

    • It would TOTALLY be wrong not to make them!

      They are so good, and people love them! Just thought of more stuff to roll them in: toasted almonds or pecans, crushed Smarties, chopped dried cranberry, crushed candy-cane (in winter), mmmm! crushed mini eggs (at easter), etc. etc. etc. Can you tell I love these??? 🙂

  2. Hey Lindsay it’s Leah from Bridgehead! I just followed your recipe and made these! Might I say that they are DIVINE!!! (and so are you!!)

Leave a Reply

