Mmm… Roasted Red Pepper & Grilled Zucchini Sandwich

Roasted Red Pepper & Zuchini Sandwich

Roasted Red Pepper & Zuchini Sandwich

Since becoming a vegetarian, people keep asking me if I’m a) crazy & b) hungry. Well, the happy answer to both is… nope.

I think the biggest misconception of vegetarians is that we eat nothing but salad. I know this is what I thought before giving up meat. And since salads (and by salads I mean the iceberg lettuce variety) and I generally do not get along, this must absolutely not be the case. In fact, I find my new way of eating extremely varied and very exciting. I am constantly trying out new recipes and am loving my new-found energy — easily making it through a day without caffeinating… and I get up at 5 a.m., remember.

So ya, no it’s not for everyone. But if you did find yourself considering at least trying out Meatless Mondays, I strongly recommend this sandwich as a test.

Grilled Zuchini

Roasted Red Pepper

Roasted Red Pepper & Zuchini Sandwich

Mmm… Roasted Red Pepper & Zuchini Sandwich
inspired from working at the wonderful Bridgehead

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 ciabatta buns
  • 1/4 cup light cream cheese
  • 2 zucchinis, 1 yellow & 1 green
  • 1 red pepper
  • 2 shallots, peeled & quartered
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • S & P
  • parsley sprigs

DIRECTIONS

  1. Turn oven to BROIL setting
  2. Place cleaned whole red pepper on a cookie sheet & broil until char marks appear on skin, turning as necessary for even broiling
  3. Put charred pepper in cooking dish with lid & allow it to steam for 15 minutes
  4. Peel off skin and then seed & section the pepper into 1/8s
  5. Slice zucchini into even slices, I use a mandolin (makes it super easy!)
  6. Place zucchini slices & shallot sections in a bowl and coat evenly with olive oil & vinegar
  7. Grill them on BBQ/Cuisinart Griddler or roast them on a parchment-lined cookie sheet in the oven set to 400F
  8. Halve & toast ciabatta buns until golden & crispy
  9. Spread cream cheese & top with roasted veggies
  10. S & P to taste

Note: If you’re looking at my pics and are trying to figure out what the green is… I tried leeks, but found they didn’t work very well since left in lengths they are hard to bite into. Shallots or sliced leeks would work better!

5 thoughts on “Mmm… Roasted Red Pepper & Grilled Zucchini Sandwich

  1. I like the combination! We don’t have a BROIL setting for our oven, but I could use our griddle pan to “char”? Then roast as you have done? Leeks are difficult to use as you say, but possibly you could add quickly steamed spinach?? M

  2. Hey by the way, congrats on becoming a vegetarian. I was for years but my health wasn’t great and I just didn’t have the time and patience to research and make sure I got all the protein and stuff I needed for my anemic body. That said, it’s a poor excuse and I adore animals, and I really hope to commit to a vegetarian lifestyle again in the next few years when I’m more prepared and ready to stick with it. Anyway, glad you’ve made this change and realized that there is tons of good food that doesn’t require meat. And, sorry for stuffing my face with a big fat burger today, I hope you weren’t grossed out! 😉

Leave a Reply

