Mmm… Asian Barley Salad

Amazing Asian Barley Salad

Have you ever read a cook book cover to cover?

Sure, you’ve probably flipped through several, pausing occasionally to fantasize while salivating. But read???

C’mon!

Healthy Starts Here

Well I’ve found the cook book for just that. You remember a couple weeks ago when I previewed Healthy Starts Here, well lemme skip to the point… it’s damn good.

For real. For serious. Go buy it now.

Okay, yes she’s my aunt. Yes, I think she’s fabulous because of that, BUT you should also know that it goes beyond that. The book is both hilarious & healthy. PLUS there are 4 fool proof dinner party menus & action plans. YAY! Dinner parties are so fun!!

Anyways, I’ve made 2 things out of it so far and both are rockstar recipes.

#1. Triple Chocolate Brownie Cookies………..
The experience with these was so intense that I forgot to take pictures, but I will next time. Promise.

#2. Mmm…. Asian Barley Salad
adapted from recipe in Mairlyn Smith’s Healthy Starts Here

INGREDIENTS

ASIAN BARLEY SALAD

  • 1 cup barley
  • 1 cup frozen edamame beans, thawed
  • 2 large green onions, thinly sliced
  • 1 cup red-skinned peanuts
  • 1 avocado, diced for garnish

PEANUT DRESSING

  • 2 tbsp natural peanut butter
  • 2 tbsp rice vinegar
  • 2 tbsp lower-sodium soy sauce
  • 2 tsp WASABI
  • 1 tbsp grated ginger

DIRECTIONS

  1. Rinse barley & cook in 3 cups of water. Bring to a boil and then simmer for 45 minutes to an hour. Remove from heat and fluff with a fork to separate the grains. Let sit, covered for 10 minutes. Cool for 30 minutes.
  2. Toss together barley, edamame & green onions in a salad bowl.
  3. For the peanut dressing, put all ingredients into a mason jar & shake the shiz out of it.
  4. Pour the dressing over the barley and mix well

WARNING!
The WASABI in this salad will blow the top off your head & clear your sinuses, if you want to reduce the amount to 1 tsp, I’ll understand. Although, I personally found the experience quite exhilarating.

WASABI WILL BLOW YOUR HEAD OFF

Peanut Dressing

3 thoughts on “Mmm… Asian Barley Salad

  1. After our conversation today, I really want to read this book too!!!! Not just because she is your Aunt either! Just because I sure need some inspiration in my life as far as food is concerned! After nearly two months of travelling I feel like I need to get healthy again (as well as lose some weight) and need some fun and inspiration to change my diet! I KNOW I have been eating all the wrong things (well, not ALL perhaps, there has been SOME healthy eating done over the last 8 weeks!) and am feeling sluggish, lacking in energy, and sugar levels all over the place, and did I mention the headaches – so, time for a new me to emerge!! (Plus I think we will be at home long enough for me to go to the gym right across the road from us and finally get back to Pilates??)

Leave a Reply

