Mmm… Sunday Smoothie!

Mmm... Sunday Smoothie

Something you might have already guess about me is that I’m a total geek when it comes to kitchen stuff. I have a zester, okay? And I actually like zesting lemon peel as a garnish to desserts. Much to my sweetie’s amusement.

So for my 31st birthday, I asked for a food processor. AND I got one. Not just any food processor, I might add. I got the Cuisinart Elite Collection™ 12-Cup Food Processor. YAY!

Let me tell you… This. Thing. Means. Business!

Since then I’ve been happily busying myself by processing all sort of shiz. I even made Bridgehead carrots!! Don’t be fooled by their sneaky ‘grated carrots’ appearance, make no mistake. These are Bridgehead carrots. AND they completed their Bridgehead carrots transformation in under 4 seconds. I’m talking 5 big carrots…

Zzzzzzzzzzrghghg! Poof!

Ta-daaaaaa!

Bridgehead carrots.

(I call them that because we get tubs of them to put them on our special Bridgehead sandwiches. And since working there, I’ve been addicted to putting grated carrots on everything except… it’s a lot of work to grate a carrot. NOT ANYMORE!)

Bridgehead carrots

During the past week and a half, I’ve learned some key food processing lessons, namely this: even though it is fun to drop mushrooms one-at-a-time in through the feed tube, rest assured – they will turn into a paste before you know it. And while a mushroom paste was not what I was going for… add some lentils… a bit of red wine… and before I knew it I had a really yummy lentil dish going on.

Anyways…

Here was my breakfast this morning, yummy Sunday Smoothie. It’s got so many things going on it in and really… it was the best smoothie I’ve ever had. SERIOUSLY.

RECIPE: Mmm… Sunday Smoothie

INGREDIENTS
  • 1 Taiwanese mango (all yellow, no red/green)
  • 4 medium-large strawberries
  • 1 cup of watermelon
  • 1/2 cup of orange
  • 1 tsp. flax seeds
  • 1 tsp. chia seeds
  • 1/8 cup of Bridgehead carrots… or grated carrots, I guess
  • 1/4 cup of chilled green tea
DIRECTIONS
  1. Clean and prep your fruits into same-sized pieces
  2. Pop them into your food processor or blender
  3. Add the seeds on top
  4. Pulse 10 times and then process for about 30 seconds
  5. Add the green tea through the feed tube

Ta-Daaaa!

So good and good for you!

Watermelon

Smooth Ingredients

Chia Seeds!

Flax Seeds

ps. Chia Seeds?

Click here and here for more info on this nutritional powerhouse. 3 times the antioxidants of blueberries??? C’mon!

6 thoughts on “Mmm… Sunday Smoothie!

  1. That sounds and looks soooooo good! Is that ALL you had for breakfast? Did it fill you up?? I think I am going to work on the idea that our anniversary this year is not about pearls at all, but could be about food processing instead, and wanting to do my own!! So, I shall keep hinting – you can throw in the odd good word on my behalf!! You do have very good resources (for food) near you tho and that must help!!
    I’m interested in the Chia seeds – must see if you can get them here!

  2. Hello my Bridgehead friend.
    You have a lovely blog too. You must have a really special camera as well as a food processor!
    See you in the a.m. – I hope the counter is in 🙂

  3. I hear that you haven’t left your apartment since acquiring your food processor and have been pureeing everything in sight, including some leftover bars of soap you found lurking in the shower. Are these rumours true? Be careful. I hear that food processors can be highly addictive.

Leave a Reply

