Everyone Loves Simon Cowl

My Very Own Simon Cowl

You might remember a while ago I knit a Simon Cowl. Well, what you may not know is that I actually knit quite a few of them and gave them away as Christmas prezzies. The best part about giving someone a hand-made present is finding out how much they love them AND best of all… seeing them wearing it whilst loving it!

The only problem about hand-making Christmas prezzies is that it takes quite a while and usually means you don’t have time to knit yourself anything. BUT I think it’s important to treat yourself every now and then, which is exactly what I did this weekend. THIS WEEKEND I knit myself my very own Simon Cowl and it is oh-so cozy and oh-so fashionista-y. In fact, I think it might even be the trendiest thing I now own.

People are loving it so much that I even have 2 orders! (Yes, Lynne, I counted yours in amongst the 2!! Yours is next!)

Maybe I’ll just make wool babies for a living! Wooldn’t that be nice…

In case you fancy yourself a challenge (not really that hard, I promise), I’m gonna post my not-so-knit-speak directions. I call them not-so-knit-speak because have you ever tried to read knitting instructions. RIDICULOUS! These, you’ll be happy to find out, are in English…

HOW TO: SIMON COWL

SUPPLIES
  • 1 roll (I refuse to call it a skein) of Lion Brand Wool-Ease® Thick & Quick® (yes, it’s really called THICK & QUICK!!!!)
  • 1 pair of 12.75mm needles (no idea what that knit-speak means… am guess the width… but I’m including a picture)
  • crochet hook

Simon Cowl and THICK & QUICK

THICK & QUICK (haha!)

Needles

DIRECTIONS
  • Cut off 1.5 feet of wool to sew ends together. Put it in a SAFE place for later.
  • Cast on 12 simple stitches (if you’re panicking right now… watch the video below. It will help!)
  • Knit the shiz out of that scarf using the entire roll of wool.
  • Weave your ends into the scarf stitches using the crochet hook.
  • Sew (yes I realize this is knitting and not sewing but I don’t know what else to call it) the ends together using the crochet hook and the safe-place-for-later 1.5 feet of wool.

At some point I might try to do my own video elaborating on my not-so-knit-speak instructions. If I get requests… I might do it faster than otherwise self-motivated.

ps. Here’s my mama & mama-in-sin respectively wearing their Simon Cowls. Ain’t they purty!!
xoxo

mama

mama-in-sin

2 thoughts on “Everyone Loves Simon Cowl

  1. gorgeous cowl… i love your black one. i always go for colours, but as i’ve mentioned, i think basic black is really chic and this cowl is particularly stylish in a classic kinda way. lovely! glad to see you are sharing your knits, it truly is wonderful to give and receive such kinds of things…

Leave a Reply

