Mmm… Lemon Ginger Tea

Comfort in a Cup

This post is dedicated to Camilou because: a) she’s swell, b) she’s my blog buddy, and c) she’s sick. I haven’t been feeling so great myself and have found this little beverage to be Comfort in a Cup. It’s not only good for you, but I think there’s some magic in it as well.

The health benefits of ginger are many and marvelous. It basically does everything from warm you up to calm you down to take away that achy belly to make the world feel like a better place. I also think that its anti-inflammatory properties make my sore throats disappear, or at least makes them happier. Basically, I am down with ginger.

Bridgehead makes this amazing tea in the winter season and while this is not their recipe (that would be baaaaad…) I loved theirs so much that I made my own at home. I love their loose leaf Lemongrass tea by itself, but something about adding fresh ginger to it makes it even better.

My philosophy when it comes to Lemon Ginger Tea is that it’s not strong enough until it stings you. So make my recipe with a bit of caution.

I know that Bodum’s are traditionally used to make coffee, but I say, “Why not switch it up??” And so I did. I find this to be a great way to make more of it at once and, really, nothing is better than A LOT of lemon ginger tea.

RECIPE: Mmm… Lemon Ginger Tea

INGREDIENTS
  • 1.5 inches of ginger root (approx 1-inch in diameter), grated
  • 4 tsp of Bridgehead loose leaf Lemongrass Tea
  • 3 cups of boiling water
  • honey, optional
DIRECTIONS
  1. Add ginger and tea to the bottom of the Bodum
  2. Pour boiling water into the Bodum
  3. Press down the plunger so all the ingredients are submerged in boiling water
  4. Steep for 5 minutes before pressing plunger all the way down
  5. Add honey to taste

Besties

Amazing Ginger

Grated Ginger Smells Amazing

Ready to Go

The Lemon & the Ginger are Mingling

Mmm...

Comfort in a Cup

I hope you feel better, Camilou!

xoxo

7 thoughts on “Mmm… Lemon Ginger Tea

  1. Oh how I love your blogs, they are so up-beat and cheering – hope Camilou is feeling alot better with all this comforting advice! And, I wish I lived near a Bridgehead (unlikely seeing as I live in the UK!) to be able to sample all these wonderful drinks (and munchies) that Bridgehead do – you make it look soooo good – I can almost smell it! I miss Bridgehead! Lorna and Carl have to go there every day!
    Hope your sore throat is under control now! Stay well! xxx

  2. Ah Lindsay, thank you for being so sweet. This post makes me smile so much and I don’t feel as crummy. And the recipe sounds amazing, I could feel my body longing for the fresh ingredients as I read along. I don’t have a Bridgehead in this neck of the woods, but I’ll hopefully convince H to run to the store to pick up some looseleaf lemongrass tea and other ingredients to make this, pronto. I’m still totally sick and getting discouraged, so this will come in handy. And you know what, lemongrass tea is my favourite, so this is truly a perfect concoction for me.

    You are one kind lady! Thank you SO much. Hugs! xoxo

Leave a Reply

