The Secret

grateful

Can I tell you a secret?

There are moments in my day (and often in the middle of the night) when worry presses down on me so heavily that I feel like I can’t breathe. I probably sound like a crazy person, muttering over and over… be patient, be patient, be patient, be patient…

At times like that it is so easy to drift off into daydreams of a perfect life with a perfect little house and a perfect backyard for the poonums to run around in. And just as quickly I feel myself aching for future days of comfort. Security wrapped around me like a warm blanket and the ability to sleep through a night without waking up in a state of panic.

The thing is… I feel like I’m starting to catch onto a very sneaky but important reality of living this weird human life. It’s never perfect and likely never will be, so I might as well stop wishing my life away and start being grateful for what I’ve got right now.

A wonderful family. Friends who make me smile. Poonums who make me laugh. And someone who I miss even when it’s only been a few hours since we last spoke.

8 thoughts on “The Secret

    • i love that you love it… and i bet you especially can relate!! 🙂

      ps. you’re such a classy example of handling things in stride… always poised and ever the Lady. maybe you’re just better at keeping your freak-outs private!! lemme know your secret!!

  1. Carpe Diem! and Patience! A process we all struggle with, either some of the time, or most of the time. When we are young, like you, we wish away our time, but when our youth is behind us we want to slow things down and savour Life again! Human nature! We rarely learn to live in the moment. So, taking your advice, I will be grateful for this day, and every day.

  2. loved the honesty, it was refreshing and open while still having your eye on the important stuff… and trust me, i’ve been there, done that (bought the f&?$ing t-shirt!) in terms of these same thoughts. i’m sure a lot of people identified with your post, so thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

