Blurry Christmas Lights

We spent the weekend at my parents new home in Navan and how wonderful it was. Lots of baking, lots of sleeping, a bit of hot-tubbing & LOTS of Christmas. There is something extremely beautiful about this time of year and I absolutely love Christmas lights. Indoors, outdoors, cheesy, classy, you name it and I love it!

Minor tangent

I’ve long (and by long I mean, like, a year or so… haha!) been fascinated by the photography technique called bokeh. Wiki says that the term comes from the Japanese word boke (暈け or ボケ), which means “blur” or “haze”, or boke-aji (ボケ味), the “blur quality”. It’s been used quite a bit recently, in fact if you google “Beautiful Bokeh Photography” you’re sure to become a fan right away.

Anyways, I thought I’d take advantage of all the lights and try my hand at some bokeh photography. Here are some of my favorites.

Blurry Christmas Lights

Bokeh Christmas Lights

Bokeh Christmas Lights

Bokeh Christmas Lights

Bokeh Christmas Lights

Bokeh Christmas Lights

Bokeh Christmas Lights

Bokeh Christmas Lights

Bokeh Christmas Lights

Bokeh Christmas Lights

Bokeh Christmas Lights

Bokeh Christmas Lights

Bokeh Christmas Lights

Bokeh Christmas Lights

I’d love to hear what you think.

xoxo

3 thoughts on “Blurry Christmas Lights

  1. I particularly like the last one! Having now visited the Beautiful Bokeh Photography site (yes, I am hooked!) I think you have gone for the Ting Hay effect, and Mondo Cardine. So, having learnt something new, I think you could have alot of fun practising your own “look/effect” – go for it!

  2. I like the last one the best because of it’s depth. The other ones I find to be beautiful but one dimensional. Your eye is left wandering. whereas the last one you focus on the background and foreground.

    LOOOVE it.

  3. well, 2 reply-votes for the last photo – that speaks for itself!

    i happen to like the ones with the really colourful lights. they are so fun to me, and I love the fact that you have no idea what it is that you’re looking at.

    for some reason, i keep coming back to the one with the lone blue shape.

    THANKS FOR COMMENTING!!!

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

