Mmm… Mexican Quinoa

Mexican Quinoa

You could call this a salad, you could call it a meal. I call it YUMMY!

I always find it amazing when I love healthy food. For some reason, I feel that healthy food should always = BLECH! So, when I find a recipe where I’m eating healthy and it tastes good, I always feel like I’m cheating the system somehow. Come and join me in the illicit fun!

RECIPE: Mmm… Mexican Quinoa

INGREDIENTS
  • 2 cups of uncooked quinoa
  • Big bunch of spinach, chopped (approx. 1 cups)
  • 1 cup of cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 1/2 cup of red onion, diced
  • 1/2 red pepper, diced
  • 1 cup of organic corn kernels (use frozen corn… the canned shiz has a lot of preservatives in it)
  • 1 jar of PC organic HOT salsa (you can use mild if you want, but… no Linsiloo guarantees)
  • 1 can of PC black kidney beans
  • 1 lime, juiced
  • S & P
DIRECTIONS
  1. Follow “Cooking Directions for the Boiling-Challenged”
  2. Set cooked quinoa aside and allow it to cool
  3. Mix all the ingredients together and season as you like
  4. Chill for an hour
  5. Squirt a bit of fresh lime on it and garnish with chunks of avocado & extra old cheddar

Lime Time

Hot Salsa

Healthy Spinach

Red Kidney Beans

Aww… this is my brother Andrew. (Everybody say “Hi!”)

He came over to spend the day with me. We had some good chats – love those! Plus, I got him to test out this recipe. He was scared, a little. At first didn’t want his own bowl. (I think he thinks healthy = blech, too!) But after tasting mine, he wanted his very own bowl!

Normally, he lives in Regina and I miss him very much! So… it was SUPER nice spending the afternoon with him!

xoxo

Andgi-Bo-Bo

2 thoughts on “Mmm… Mexican Quinoa

  1. Still keep forgetting to find some quinoa! But when I do I’ll have to give your recipes a go! Less of the HOT salsa for me tho – I hope it would be just as good with mild salsa???

Leave a Reply

