3 Reasons I Heart Quinoa!

Quinoa Tabbouleh

ps. It’s pronounced KEEN-WA and I am addicted. Seriously. Addicted. Here are three reasons why:

1. Healthy & Tasty…

Seriously, I’m not lying. Healthy. And. Tasty. I know, I know, the two are not usually synonymous. But just because that’s usually the case doesn’t mean that it can’t happen, right?

This little powerhouse has the highest protein content of any other grain. And since it contains all eight essential amino acids, quinoa is considered a complete protein. It also delivers fiber, iron, magnesium, calcium and vitamins A and E.
Whole Foods

You know how recent fad diets have taught us to think “CARB = BAD” & “PROTEIN = GOOD”? Well, obviously I don’t need to tell you that this isn’t always the case, but too much carb does equal muffin-top. And I don’t mean the kind that you eat. I mean the kind that sticks out over the top of your pants.

I have a muffin-top… and I am trusting it to keep me warm this winter, BUT I don’t necessarily want to grow a mega-muffin-top.

2. Simple to Make

I am boiling-challenged.

It’s true. I can’t boil rice to save my life and I can’t boil an egg either. These two things are usually something that non-kitchen-people usually have mastered and so, being very much a kitchen-person, it’s always been a secret shame of mine. As such, being able to successfully cook quinoa has kind of turned into a good boost to my old self-esteem.

Cooking Directions for the Boiling-Challenged

  1. Rinse the grain well to remove bitter-tasting hull.
  2. Add 1 cup of quinoa to 1.5 cups of water
  3. Bring to a boil and then turn down heat to a simmer and cover
  4. Cook for roughly 15 minutes until quinoa is light and fluffy
  5. DONE!

This is super yummy with feta cheese crumbed on top!!

3. Mmm… Quinoa Tabbouleh

Fresh tasting, yummy, filling & healthy. This is an excellent side-dish or main course, depending on your preference. Either way… YUMM YUMM YUMMY!

INGREDIENTS
  • 1 cup of uncooked quinoa
  • a big bunch of parsley, chopped (approx. 2 cups)
  • 2 small tomatoes, diced
  • 1 cucumber, diced
  • 1 lemon, zest & juice
  • 1/2 of a small onion, diced
  • 1/2 cup of olive oil
  • S & P
DIRECTIONS
  1. Follow “Cooking Directions for the Boiling-Challenged”
  2. Set cooked quinoa aside and allow it to cool
  3. Mix all the ingredients together and season as you like
  4. Eat right away if you can’t wait, or chill it for an hour
  5. Advertisements

3 thoughts on “3 Reasons I Heart Quinoa!

  1. Still trying to find some – probably need to go to Waitrose! The supermarket for the very select – which means a trip to Marlborough – oh dear! What a shame! hehe I’ve been pronouncing it wrong all along though! Wikipedia link – interesting info: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quinoa
    If we still lived near Bude, (and BY THE SEA) we would have no troubles getting hold of some! Arghhh!
    Looking forward to trying your recipe!

  2. Alright Linsiloo – I will give quinoa another shot secondary to your rave review! I have tried it and was clearly not as taken with it as you were but maybe I tried a bad batch. I am, however, a tabouli addict so this tabouli/quinoa concoction excites me. One thing to add to your tabouli recipe: dried mint! Makes tabouli so much better… I buy dried mint in bulk so maybe I should just bring you some 🙂

    • Hey Karlyloo… Thanks for the suggestion about the mint. I agree… most tabbouleh recipes that I found did call for mint. But I rebelled against them.

      Why? Because my sweeties HATES mint. Like – HATES!!!

      (psst… he won’t even kiss me after I brush my teeth unless he’s just brushed his, too…. hates cinnamon, too, so that won’t work either.) WEIRD, right??

      So thank you, thank you for the kind offer however life is about compromise and so I am omitting the mint.

      All that to say, DO TRY IT AGAIN!!! Is it possible you forgot to pre-rinse the grains? The hull is bitter so it’s really important to get rid of it by pre-rinsing.

      Either way, hope you love it!!

      : ) How’s the little Clara-bean??

Leave a Reply

