The Business of Being Born

So I know I have WAY TOO MUCH stuff to be doing more important than watching movies, but… this was recommended watching for my doula training. So, it was kind of like homework, right?

Right.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I LOVE a good ‘teach me something’ movie. Some of my favorites being, Food, Inc., An Inconvenient Truth, and now… The Business of Being Born.

Remember Ricki Lake?

Go, Ricki!
Go, Ricki!
Go, Ricki!

Ringing any bells?

Well, she’s the mastermind behind this wonderful picture. And what a wonderful job she’s done. If you don’t have time to watch it right now, you should definitely at least watch the trailer.

Save it for later, but do watch it. Especially if you are either pregnant or planning on becoming pregnant in the future. The whole thing (birth!) now completely blows me away.

The psychologies of labour alone are fascinating, not to mention the body’s response to it. One of the most interesting things that I got from it was that right after a vaginal birth, a woman’s body releases a complex cocktail of ‘love’ hormones that initiate bonding as well as maternal aggression (the physical urge to protect their young).

By the way, that’s not to say that you’re lacking those abilities if you have a cesarean section (or C-birth) – obviously! – it’s just something that doesn’t take place on a natural hormonal level without the vaginal birth.

The other thing that this film emphasized was how desensitized our culture has become to the concept of surgery. The recent trend of elective surgeries, including plastic surgery, has meant that a surgical procedure has become ‘no big deal’ in a lot of people’s minds. As a result, c-sections are not always recognized as the major and hugely invasive surgery that they actually are.

Seriously. Watch this! (Even if you’re done having babies…)

ps.

Anyone notice I said ‘vaginal’ TWICE without cringing/blocking-my-ears-&-going-la-la-la? I tell ya, I am evolving! BIG TIME!

xoxo

3 thoughts on “The Business of Being Born

  1. I finally watched THE COVE last week. It beat out Food Inc for the Academy Award and I had been wondering how it could be better since Food Inc. was such a good documentary. The verdict: THE COVE is incredible. Pretty amazing for a documentary: it followed the process of trying to catch the Japanese in the act and in doing so the film was actually suspenseful at time which wasn’t a trait I expected from a documentary. Anyhow – highly recommend it – check it out!

Leave a Reply

