Mmm… Sunrise Muffins

Mmm... Sunrise Muffins

I’ve never been able to achieve the store-bought look to a muffin… until today. And for that, I totally LOVE this recipe.

I must admit that the nutrition info of this recipe needs to be looked at with squinty eyes… it’s not so great. Mind you, it’s not so bad either, but at 342 calories per muffin, it could stand a revamp (stay tuned!). It’s pretty high in sugar and isn’t completely whole wheat, BUT… look how pretty!!!

This was a case where I bought a magazine because the recipe on the cover looked so yummy! It’s from last month’s Canadian Living. And where I’ve been known to buy a magazine and then just drool over the pictures with the intention of actually making them, I’m proud to announce that last night I actually made them.

I was so excited to wake up this morning and try one that I managed to wake up in time to see the sunrise – a beautiful one! And so, I’ve renamed the former Cranberry Seed Muffins to Sunrise Muffins. Hope they don’t mind.

ps. the recipe calls for orange peel and since I don’t normally buy oranges… (not that I have anything against them, just prefer other fruits in the summer, I guess) I just picked the one that was closest to me. Mmmmmmm! Cara cara oranges are YUMMY!!! As you can see they’re kind of a red orange. In fact, when I cut into it I was concerned I’d somehow picked up a grapefruit… nope! They’re sweet, juicy and DELICIOUS!!! Highly recommend trying them!

RECIPE: Mmm… Sunrise Muffins

INGREDIENTS

1 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/3 cup whole-wheat flour
1/2 cup wheat bran
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/3 cup unsalted sunflower seeds
1/3 cup pumpkin seeds
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar, packed
2 tsp orange peel, finely grated
2 eggs
1 1/3 cup butter milk (see trick below)
1/2 cup butter, melted and cooled
2 cups frozen cranberries, thawed

Topping
3 tbsp each, oat bran, sunflower seeds, and pumpkin seeds

DIRECTIONS
  1. Large bowl: Whisk together flours, wheat bran, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and seeds
  2. Separate large bowl: Whisk together sugars, orange peel, eggs buttermilk, and butter
  3. Incorporate dry ingredients in 2 batches until just combined
  4. Stir in cranberries
  5. Spoon into 12 greased muffin cups
  6. Sprinkle topping evenly
  7. Bake at 375°C for 20-25 minutes
  8. Insert toothpick to test that they’re done
  9. Cool on baking rack

Mmm... Sunrise Muffins

Mmm... Sunrise Muffins

Mmm... Sunrise Muffins

Mmm... Sunrise Muffins

2 thoughts on “Mmm… Sunrise Muffins

  1. Those look magnificent! My mouth just filled with spit looking at the pictures! 🙂
    I Think the calorie count could be lowered by using all whole-wheat flour, and substituting the white sugar for either all brown, honey or just plain old splenda.
    Hopefully it wouldn’t compromise the taste tho.
    🙂

    • Hey Kristi,

      Thanks for the feedback! I know what you mean, I’m always salivating over photos. It’s like some weird form of torture… especially before bed. NEVER READ FOOD BLOGS BEFORE BED!

      I have some ideas on how to low-cal this out, but you’re right…. taste MUST NOT be compromised!

      : )

Leave a Reply

