Mmm… Sushi!

Sushi

I meant to tell you that I had sushi on Monday, kind of for the the first time. I say kind of for a couple of reasons:

Reason #1:

My real first time was store-bought from a grocery store, which I’ve since learned is like ordering a McFilet Mignon if that was an option – which thankfully, is not.

Reason #2:

The second time I got convinced to get sushi, I had less than an open mind. In fact, I had quite snobbily decided prior to going that I wasn’t going to like it based on how much of a cliché it was. “Oh, look at me. I’m going for sushi… sushi, sushi, sushi…” In my mind, it was ranked right up there with yoga and organic food as a yuppy très cool thing one must like/do in order to be civilized.

Note:

As you can probably guess, I have officially eaten my words when it comes to organic food, and do enjoy the odd downward dog every now and again. Everybody say, “Ommmmmm!”

Anyways, the point is that after hearing my sweetie talk about this awesome sushi place down in Westboro, I decided to try it again – this time with an open mind.

The sushi restaurant is called MHK Sushi and it is amazing. I have to admit, I was nervous. There is something about deciding to eat raw fish that is slightly less than comfortable for me. I don’t even like cooked fish – at all. I like seafood, but fish has always put me off. So needless to say, the thought of raw fish wasn’t exactly something that I was super excited to retry.

Open minded though, I was willing to give it a go. Walked through the doors, and there’s this huge fish tank. With huge fish swimming around. Seriously. It was like those lobster tanks at the grocery store. Turns out that’s not exactly the case. The fish in the fish tank are pets, not food. BUT you could see how it looked.

Open minded, open minded, open minded…

California Rolls

We got to the table and were given a huge menu. Kind of overwhelming, which is why if you want to try sushi for the first time you should probably go with someone who knows what they’re doing. Rob knew what he was doing, and so made a few recommendations:

Appetizers

Seaweed Salad
Mixed seaweed with a light sprinkling of sesame seeds & fresh-tasting ginger dressing

Edamame
Steamed soya beans seasoned with sea salt

Sushi

Spicy Red Snapper Roll
Spicy California Roll
Japanese Bagel Roll
Avocado Roll

You garnish each piece with a bit of pickled ginger and dip them in soya sauce with a teeny bit of Wasabi (Japanese equivalent of horseradish).

It was soooo good!!! For reals.

Eating with Chopsticks

Eating with chopsticks is a bit of a challenge at first, but eventually you get the hang of it. I accidently dropped a Japanese Bagel Roll from a fairly high distance right into the soya sauce… Hey, it happens!

The best part about eating sushi for me is that you don’t feel bloated afterwards. You just feel pleasantly full. No big belly, no after-feast nap, you just feel pleasantly, pleasantly full.

I can’t wait to go back!

3 thoughts on “Mmm… Sushi!

  1. 1. LOVE this new blog
    2. HOW in the heck are your pictures that amazing? do you take them in the restaurant??? AMAZING
    3. if you heart sushi now – and i know that you heart reading – you can join my book club – sushi/book lovers invited.
    :0)

    • Hey Lynne,

      Thanks for the compliment!!! Although I normally do take my own pics, I can’t take credit for these ones. I forgot to bring my camera when we went to MHK. I know, right? Bad blogger. These ones are stock photos.

      Your sushi/book club sounds FUN!!! Count me in. Let me know the scoop cuz it sounds awesome!!

Leave a Reply

