My Brother’s Name is David…

Which is NOT the reason I picked this book… Well, not the ONLY reason, I should say. (tee hee!)

David Gets in Trouble

David Gets in Trouble

Author & Illustrator: David Shannon
Reading level: Ages 4-8
Paperback: 32 pages
Publisher: Blue Sky Press (September 1, 2002)

My Review

First of all, I’ve noticed a trend in the past two reviews I’ve done – 32 pages seems to be a sweet spot for page numbers. Is this a coincidence? OR am I onto something? We will have to see. (Chunky Charlie sits at 36 pages right now, which might be another area to rethink.)

Getting to the fun stuff, though. This book is FUN from cover to cover. The story is simple and based on something every kid can relate to. It’s naughty, and yet endearing. I love it!

That being said, if it weren’t for the illustrations it would not be so successful. What I mean is that the simplicity of the story is totally complimented by the illustrations which are are so much fun to look at. They are done by David Shannon himself, and are in keeping with some of his other books. They are child-like and yet so polished. Truly appropriate for the story and target audience.

Once again, I checked out Amazon.com to see what other people were saying. The great thing about reviews is that they show both sides. Someone actually described the book as “Creepy” while most of the others were along the same lines as me.

I guess it just goes to show how you just never know how people will take your work.

Growing List of Considerations for Chunky Charlie

  1. Try to meet the 32-page mark
  2. Evaluate content to make sure that every word counts (Sylvester…)
  3. Revisit illustrations to see if some benefit could be gained from ‘polishing’ them a bit more (The Girl in The Castle…)
  4. Shorten content into a ‘less is more’ approach (The Girl in The Castle…)

David Gets in Trouble

David Gets in Trouble

David Gets in Trouble

David Gets in Trouble

Leave a Reply

