Should Probably Be Saving It For Last, But I’m Starting With My Favorite!

the girl in the castle inside the museum

The Girl in the Castle Inside the Museum

Author: Kate Bernheimer
Illustrator: Nicoletta Ceccoli
Reading level: Ages 4-8
Hardcover: 40 pages
Publisher: Schwartz & Wade (February 12, 2008)

My Review

I think this might be an example of me being crow-like and getting distracted by pretty & shiny things, but I LOVE this book! The illustrations are most definitely pretty & shiny, but I also like the simplicity of the story. The language is very basic, sentences are kept short, and yet it doesn’t feel choppy. This is definitely an area of improvement for Chunky Charlie

I checked out how it rated on amazon.com and found that overall, my opinions were shared by most. There was the token cynic’s review who bemoaned that it was a “depressing commentary on girls”, to which I ask what she thought of Snow White & The Seven Dwarfs?

(Probably thought she was a hussy – living with seven men! – with some sort of a little person fetish.)

The reviews did show the importance of good illustrations however, with most of them claiming they carry the story or attracted them to it in the first place. And from that perspective, I now think I could rework some my illustrations a bit, too.

Sigh! When will I ever find the time?

Growing List of Suggestions for Chunky Charlie

  1. Revisit illustrations to see if some benefit could be gained from ‘polishing’ them a bit more
  2. Shorten content into a ‘less is more’ approach

the girl in the castle inside the museum

the girl in the castle inside the museum

the girl in the castle inside the museum

the girl in the castle inside the museum

Leave a Reply

