ROADTRIP! (shhhhhh!)

As I mentioned previously, I went to the library today so that I could do a little market research. I hadn’t been to a library in a really long time – shame on me! – but it was exactly like the last time I was there.

Is it just me or is EVERYONE better behaved in libraries? Kids seem to have a good healthy fear of the librarians, and, for that matter, adults, too. It must be all the rules: always whisper, no running, return your books on time…

(ps. am a huge fan of good healthy fears!)

Either way, the children’s part of the library is a magical place. The wide-eyed innocence seems contagious and I left feeling somehow less cynical than when I entered – possibly a little wrinkle-free, too. Who needs therapy & botox when you can just go to a public library instead?

So after getting my library card, I decided Step Two should be to consult the librarian.

You know when you can tell someone is perfect for their job? It all just clicks, right? Well this was the case, for sure. (I so wish I could remember her name… am so horrible at names! Step Three should be name-memory hypnosis!) The Librarian Lady was knowledgeable, well-spoken, and very very helpful. She took the time to show me around the children’s section and actually got me started with a stack of books I should check out. In a nutshell, she was the bee’s knees!

LIBRARIAN PICKS

She chose hers based on popularity with kids & parents. I should note that a lot of the FAVES were already loaned out… so this was the best she could do today. She’s ordered me a couple of nutrition-related ones. I should have those in the next few days. (Librarian Lady = AMAZING!)

  • Zathura by Chris Van Allsburg
  • Have I got a book for you! by Mélanie Watt
  • Sylvester and the Magic Pebble by William Steig
  • The Frog Prince Continued by Jon Scieszka
  • Do You Want To Be My Friend? by Eric Carle

MY PICKS

I chose mine based on being either a blast from the past or because they were similar to how I want mine to look.

  • The Girl in the Castle Inside the Museum by Kate Bernheimer
  • Buford the Little Bighorn by Bill Peet
  • The Ant and the Elephant by Bill Peet
  • David Gets in Trouble by David Shannon
  • Too Many Toys by David Shannon

Anyways, I wanted to share my findings to see what you think, so will do so over the next few days. One thing, though…

PLEASE COMMENT!!! I need your help!

(am done with the yelling hysterics! apologies!)

Leave a Reply

