Mmm… Apple Crisp Muffins

Apple Crisp Muffin

Mornings can be tricky! Everyone trying to get to their day’s destination on time. Grumpiness getting in the way. With everything that is trying to be remembered, breakfast can get skipped if it becomes too complicated. And well… that’s just silly.

I’ve always been a muffin person. I think they’re great for breakfast. I usually have a muffin with a piece of cheese and some fruit. To me, this is a yummy breakfast.

The problem is that so many muffins are little more than a breakfast shaped cake, leaving you hyped up on sugar temporarily with an energy crash inevitable. Instead of starting your day off with a drive-thru muffin, make these in advance. You’ll not only be opting for a healthier muffin, but you’ll save money as well!. This muffin recipe is stocked full of healthy ingredients and are an excellent source of fibre.

Like most of my favorite recipes, this one is versatile and can be easily customized! Today, I’m posting the Apple Crisp variation that I just recently made. I’m really pleased with how they turned out. They’re so yummy! I hope you enjoy them, too.

RECIPE: Apple Crisp Muffins

INGREDIENTS

2 eggs
1 cup skim milk
1/2 cup unsweetened apple sauce
1 cup rolled oats
3/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/4 cup wheat bran
1/8 cup flax seeds
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 medium apple (or 2 small ones) grated
1/2 cup raisins (optional)

Topping
2 tablespoon rolled oats
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1 tsp olive oil
1 tsp maple syrup

DIRECTIONS
  1. Preheat oven to 400°C
  2. Combine wet ingredients
  3. Add rolled oats to wet ingredients and let them sit for 5 minutes
  4. Meanwhile, combine dry ingredients (make sure baking soda & baking powder are well combined into mixture)
  5. Mix wet and dry ingredients together, adding grated apple and raisins
  6. Combine ingredients for topping
  7. Divide batter into 12-muffin pan and sprinkle each muffin with topping
  8. Bake for 15-20 minutes

Serve with apple slices

Note: If you’re looking for more of a sweet muffin, these might not do the trick. Try this version instead! It’s got all the same great health benefits, just a few more calories!

One thought on “Mmm… Apple Crisp Muffins

  1. Sounds yummy – I think I may have to check on this “cup” measurement system that you Northern Americans use though – I think I may have a “cup” measurer lurking somewhere in one of my cupboards – otherwise it will have to be a bit of guesswork!

    You are so right about breakfast and I for one cannot function without any! But for me – in winter it’s porridge (which can be made in 2 mins with microwave) with dried cranberries and raisins – made with milk (half-fat of course!). Then it’s two Ryvita Crispbreads with low fat spread and marmalade! Yum! In summer it’s muesli, made with lots of healthy ingredients, using dried fruits for sweetness, and followed by the Ryvita, and of course the marmalade. Can’t do without my cereals, milk and marmalade!

    But, I will try your muffins when I can work out the measurments! They sound too good to miss! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

