Mmm… Fruity Crisp!

Fruity Crisp

Before you all start thinking I’m some health-food extremist, let me just say…
I am not. TRUST!

Part of the inspiration for this book is that there is a big fat fairy living inside of me! Isn’t that a pretty picture? Seriously though, if it were up to my urges, I’d be eating chocolate chip cookie dough – RAW! – for breakfast, lunch & supper. I have a huge sweet tooth and I love desserts. In fact, I truly believe a meal is not complete without something sweet following it. Keep in mind: this is not my rule – this is my stomach’s rule.

Example: I can eat THE biggest plate of Thanksgiving dinner AND go back for a second round, and still have a lingering ‘hungry’ feeling until I’ve had that slice of pumpkin pie.

So now you’re probably thinking either:
a) Publisher – “And this is the person whose book I’m supposed to publish?!?!”
b) Parent – “And this is the person whose judging how I feed my children?!!?!?!”
c) Friend and/or my parents – “That’s our Lindsay!”

In reality, I am neither health food fanatic nor fitness guru. What I am is someone who thinks that there is a huge marketing lie in existence, promising a magical quick fix.

Really?

C’mon! We know better than that! Fad diets don’t work! And neither do fad workout machines. (This is coming from someone who’s owned both an Ab Roller AND an Ab Tronic… TRUST!) But most importantly we are not meant to fit into a cookie-cutter mold of measurements that make us models. We are a species of unique individuals and the sooner we accept this, the happier we’ll be. I gave up a long time ago trying to fit into the impossible mold after realizing no matter how much I exercise or diet or buy crazy electro-shocking-belts (the Ab Tronic actually shocks you… and I actually paid to own this!) – I’m never going to have six-pack abs. Correction: I do have six-pack abs but they’re shy and therefore always prefer to hide behind a layer of pudge.

Also, I figured out that life is too short to not include dessert. It basically comes down to this… (deep breath)

I DON’T WANT TO LIVE A LIFE WITHOUT DESSERT!!!!!!

(sorry for getting hysterical… it’s just that I’m extremely passionate about dessert!)

So in that spirit, I want to introduce a concept… portioning!

Say what?!?

Portioning. You can have dessert, as long as you have a reasonably-sized portion, ie. instead of eating one row of cookies, eat one cookie. A simple concept made difficult because food companies have programmed us to super-size everything and believe that portions should be bigger than our bodies actually need.

Which is why we need to reprogram. Again – difficult.

I’m not going to get into this right now, I’ve ranted on long enough. For now I want to leave you with the permission to have dessert, as long as you promise to start thinking about keeping your portions reasonable. Okay?

Now as your reward for getting through this rant, here is a healthy-ish recipe that I love! It’s yummy, it’s easy and it’s versatile!

RECIPE: Yummy Fruity Crisp

INGREDIENTS

Filling
4 cups of fresh fruit
– apples, berries, rhubarb, peaches, plums, etc.
– on their own or mix them together, eg. apples & strawberries with rhubarb

Topping
1/2 cup butter or margarine
1/2 cup whole-wheat flour
3/4 cup rolled oats
3/4 cup brown sugar

DIRECTIONS

– Melt butter/margarine in a small pot
– Mix in dry ingredients and stir until well-combined & crumbly
– Bake at 350°C for 30-40 minutes

Serve 1/2 cup of Fruity Crisp with a scoop of vanilla frozen yogurt! Enjoy!
2 thoughts on “Mmm… Fruity Crisp!

  1. i believe in dessert. i believe in enjoying a sundae every friday night. and yes… i do lick the bowl of batter once my cake pans are in the oven. i also bike, swim, run and walk everywhere… and my abs are also shy. as are my quads. i’m cool with that.

Leave a Reply

