Ray of Sunshine in a Puddle of Blech

I know that there are probably a gagillion author/illustrators out there who have been trying to get published much longer than me. Relatively speaking, I am very new to this business and since I have no experience actually getting published, all I can do is continue to try and hope that it is not my undoing… dun dun dunnnnnn (soap operatic drama moment).

And while I know nothing of success – when it comes to getting published – I do consider myself to be something of a connoisseur in the area of rejection. I know that I’ve experienced it and, more importantly, I know that it sucks. It doesn’t matter if it comes in the way of a form letter or a more personalized “great idea, just not for us” kind of encouragement letter, it all sucks. Somebody wise has probably said something about not being able to appreciate the destination without the bumps of the journey, blah blah blah. Well, wise person, true as that may be… these rejection bumps SUCK!

However, in the midst of all the suckage, I recently got the most encouraging email full of information and insight. It was from this really interesting and funny author-to-be, E.A. Hanks, who is working away at her first novel for children (Piper Peregrine Vs. The Consortium For Better Thinking), and from what I gather through her tweets, her laptop just died and she is extremely busy. Never the less, she still took the time to answer my questions and give me her take on this book business.

And while I know that it’s probably “just an email” to so many people, to me it meant a lot. It meant a lot in its timing, its positivity, its humour, and it meant a lot that it was personal.

So for that, Ms. Hanks, thank you very much indeed.

We, my league of followers (5 at last count… and I LOVE YOU ALL!) and I, wish you all the best with your book and look forward to its release.

Leave a Reply

